Follow Us:



Home Department of Chemical Sciences History and Philosophy

Our History

The Department of Chemical Sciences enjoys the historical privilege of being one of the foundation departments at the inception of Olabisi Onabanjo University in 1982. The Department was established to produce students who are very conversant in abroad sense with the theories, principles and applications of chemistry so that they could be thoroughly resourceful, adaptive and innovative in their later employment whether in the field of chemical researches, in Universities, in Industry or on their own.

Find below the list of former Heads of the Department since its inception to date. The Department is similarly grateful to all the scholars for their contributions toward the growth and development stages of the Department.

Dr. O.A. Sosanwo                                           Head of Department               1983-1987

Dr Dapo Ayediran                                          Head of Department               1987-1993

Prof. O.A. Sosanwo                                        Head of Department               1993-1996

Dr. G.O. Adewuyi                                           Head of Department               1996-1998

Dr. O. O. Adeyemi                                          Head of Department               1998-2003

Prof. E.K. Adesogan                                       Head of Department               2003-2008

Dr. O.S. Lawal                                                 Head of Department               2008-2010

Dr. O.O. Adeyemi                                          Head of Department               2010-2011

Dr. N.A.A. Babarinde                                     Head of Department               2011-2012

Prof. O.S. Lawal                                              Head of Department               2012-2014

Dr. N.A.A. Babarinde                                     Head of Department               2014-2016

Dr. O. O. Adeyemi                                          Head of Department               2016-2018

Dr. O. O. Olubomehin                                    Head of Department              2018-Date


Our Philosophy

The programme is designed for the award of degree at the end of the fourth year of study


Download Handbook
1.30 MB

Download our Brochure
1.22 MB

Need Help?

Please Feel Free To Contact Us. We will get back to you within 48 hours.

Call (234) 123 - 4567