On Monday, 31st January, 1983, the University opened its doors to the first set of students, among whom were five students admitted to the Earth Sciences Department.  These students graduated in 1987.

Since then the Department has produced many sets of successful graduates at first degree, master’s and doctorate levels.  Many of her products have found employment in the Oil Producing and Service Companies, Federal and State Governments owned establishments including this humble Department.

It was a small Department of six full-time and three part-time academic staff with expertise in diverse aspects of Geology.  By 2000/2001 session, the staff strength had increased, and presently there are ten (10) full-time, one (1) contract staff, four (4) technical and two (2) administrative members of staff.